Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > Survival & Sustenance Living Forum > Home Defense Dog?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2007, 02:10 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear_Down View Post
Perhaps I can shed some light on some myths and facts on guard dogs.
First off, Before some one presumes I am just popping off. I am a K-9 schutzhund trainer and decoy for prison and police dogs.

Dogs associate everything. More mail men paper carriers and meter readers get bit because the dog viewes them as an unwelcome guest, Because they come to the door but are never allowed to cross into the DEN.
The quickest way to make a dog aggressive towards others is to De socialize them.(confine).
Some breeds are bread for guard and that's all one has to do is to encourage it ,But becarfull what you wish these are weapons with a mind of there own.
The presa canero to those who do not know is known as the cane corso they were bred in Rome to fight Lions for sport in the coliseums. The breed itself is loyal to family and have a need to be with them. But strangers BEWARE.
My all time favorite guard dog is the caucasian mountain dog .
average 36" at the shoulders 200Lb's. No guard training needed .
They know no fear and dislike every one and every thing except the pack.
That sounds like the kind of friend everyone should have. Remember that you have to be the pack leader and not just one of the pack.

Old 10-02-2007, 10:58 PM   #22

Liked 27 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Our shepherd/chow/wolf is primarily a family dog and she is very protective of her pack (wife, our grown kids & me). She is obedience trained but not agression trained. On a regular basis I reminder her who the pack leader is. No, not my wife! Me.