Heat without electric or gas - Page 6
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > Survival & Sustenance Living Forum > Heat without electric or gas

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 12:02 PM   #51
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4659 Times on 2320 Posts
Likes Given: 1086

Okay, so I have some short term experience here. Since I am a broke college student and have nothing, I had to quit heating my house (I live in Maine). I have a pellet stove, and oil heat, but couldn't afford it. My house is an old farm house from the 1850's on the water, so it gets extremely windy...and cold. Even in Maine, my house interior stayed around mid 30-40 degrees. Wearing thermal pants under jeans, wool socks, shoes, gloves, warm cap, thermal shirt and a sweater worked pretty good, especially if you're moving around. Only twice did I have to break out the hand warmer. Gloves are a must too. The fingerless gloves work good for things that require dexterity, like brushing your teeth, writing, or typing. Waking up is the worst and you're almost frozen, so waking up I would do 25 pushups, dips, squats, and situps. That seemed to help get the blood flowing and warm me up enough to be able to change in the morning. Soup is amazing for warmth, and holding a warm bowl of soup is great for thawing out stiff fingers.
A cheap zero-degree sleeping bag saved me. I couldn't sleep without it. Just getting inside it, and you'll feel the warmth in minutes.
Also I found that sleeping in a closet works great because you can run a space heater for a few minutes to bring the temp up.
Hope that helps.

Old 04-17-2012, 12:25 PM   #52

Liked 1911 Times on 990 Posts
Likes Given: 1455

Wow. Any south facing windows?

Old 04-18-2012, 12:58 AM   #53
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1780 Times on 1156 Posts
Likes Given: 3961

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosin View Post