food preservation

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > Survival & Sustenance Living Forum > food preservation

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 03:26 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 14 Times on 8 Posts

Default food preservation

I live on a farm. I farm for a living, also raising cattle. So when things go bad i know I have meat. But what's the best way to store it safely if there is no electricity for a freezer.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-25-2013, 03:36 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 9561 Times on 4114 Posts
Likes Given: 1499

Canning. Drying. Smoking. Jerky. Sausage. Pickling.

For canning- 1. Get a copy of the Ball Blue Book of canning.
2. Get a PRESSURE CANNER. Attempting to can meats without it is a roll of the dice with the jackpot being botulism (Latin word for DEAD)

Meat can be readily canned in glass jars- but you can also make soups, stews, chili, spaghetti auce, etc, and can THAT.

What we have here is... failure- to communicate.

dango Likes This 
Old 01-25-2013, 08:04 AM   #3

Drying meat to make jerky is simpler and safer than canning. Especially if you don't have prior experience. Dried meat also takes up less space and is considerably lighter if you have to carry it.

Old 01-25-2013, 11:56 PM   #4

Liked 80 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 11