Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > Survival & Sustenance Living Forum > Do you save your seeds ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 09:35 PM   #21
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 102 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Another thing to consider is that different plants have different requirements for saving viable seeds. For example, seeds picked out of a cucumber from the grocery store will not do much good- the cucumber is not ripe enough when we eat it to collect good seeds. Tomatoes have an interesting collection process as well involving fermentation. I am by no means an expert on the topic, but I have been trying to learn about how to properly collect seeds from my different heirlooms. The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know

Old 07-08-2012, 12:43 PM   #22
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1726 Times on 1246 Posts
Likes Given: 1968

Default Seed collection.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadamai View Post
Another thing to consider is that different plants have different requirements for saving viable seeds. For example, seeds picked out of a cucumber from the grocery store will not do much good- the cucumber is not ripe enough when we eat it to collect good seeds. Tomatoes have an interesting collection process as well involving fermentation. I am by no means an expert on the topic, but I have been trying to learn about how to properly collect seeds from my different heirlooms. The more I learn, the more I realize how little I know