Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Hunting Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/)
-   -   what do you guys think of using an sks for hunting deer? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/what-do-you-guys-think-using-sks-hunting-deer-15425/)

dsmith84 07-05-2009 02:15 AM

what do you guys think of using an sks for hunting deer?

hi yall. i was wondering about yalls thoughts on this. i live in ga by the way i believe it is legal to hunt deer with it. i am getting an sks with a monte carlo stock and a scope on it. will this work out pretty well? i'm a pretty good marksman. its my first year going hunting. thanks for any replies guys.

skullcrusher 07-05-2009 02:27 AM

I don't see why not, as long as you make sure it is legal, or what legal is. Usually, the rifle laws deal with capacity and sometimes barrel length. At .278, the round is smaller than a .300 win mag. I'd double check the laws for magazine capacity if the sks has a detachable mag.

suprdave 07-05-2009 03:27 PM

Just buy some premium ammo. The regular hollow points won't do the deed.

RL357Mag 07-05-2009 05:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsmith84 (Post 125105)
hi yall. i was wondering about yalls thoughts on this. i live in ga by the way i believe it is legal to hunt deer with it. i am getting an sks with a monte carlo stock and a scope on it. will this work out pretty well? i'm a pretty good marksman. its my first year going hunting. thanks for any replies guys.