Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Hunting Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/)
-   -   Remington Model 722 handload info (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/remington-model-722-handload-info-58913/)

Yamahog12 02-27-2012 04:26 PM

Remington Model 722 handload info

I have inherited this rifle from my Dad. It is chambered for .257 Roberts caliber and I want to start doing reloading (or handloading) using the RCBS kit I bought. For coyote hunting, I have read that an 87 grain hollow point bullet is a good choice.

I'm wondering if anyone out there who might own this model rifle can offer up handloading "recipes". I mean which bullet, primer, cases and powder (and how much)? I am a beginner when it comes to bullets, reloading, etc. as I hunt deer exclusively with a bow. Also, anything I need to look out for when it comes to handloading cartridges, especially for this caliber, is appreciated. Thanks!

Catfish 02-27-2012 10:36 PM

I have an old 257 AI that I used to use on groundhog. I like the 87 gr. Sierra Spitzer bullets real well. The Sierra 75 HP will leave real big holes in groundhogs and would do the same for coyotes. What to load really depends on the rifle. IMR 4064 is a real good powder to try. Next would be IMR 3031. Then any other powder near these on the burn rate chart. I would also recomand you use standard primers and not mag. primers. For load data on line go to www.hodgon.com, www.ramshot.com,www.accuratepowder.com

cottontop 02-27-2012 11:09 PM