Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Hunting Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/)
-   -   Question about Boar Hunting... (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/question-about-boar-hunting-34548/)

Fuzzyinline 11-19-2010 05:17 PM

Question about Boar Hunting...

Im kinda new to this hunting thing... at first i was interested in buying an AR-15 for boar hunting, but ive heard from different people that possibly the AR-15 would be no good for wild boar hunting... my uncle has a lease where 4-5oo pound boars roam quite often. And someone suggested that i get an FN light 2o .308... everyones saying a 27o would be better, but im more into the assault rifle type. i need some input, suggestions, any experiences with these, or help...

patret 11-19-2010 07:17 PM

The M1A would be a good choice based on your question. The 7.62 by 51 is a lot more potent round than the 223. It would fill your assault rifle needs.

orangello 11-19-2010 07:45 PM

If you got the cash, DPMS uses some big bangers in some of their AR10-type firearms.

FWIW, i have heard of more than a few guys using 7.62x39mm on hogs. Ammo type might also be an important choice.

Dillinger 11-19-2010 07:51 PM

First off, I would HIGHLY recommend AGAINST going boar hunting with a .223 :eek:

You are talking about a big, mean, heavily muscled animal with a small brain and small heart. They are very tough to bring down with just one shot.

So, you want an assault style rifle and you want to hunt pigs.

Hhhhhaaaaaaavvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeee you met MAGNUM P*I*G* ???

http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f20/build-time-has-come-22019/index3.html

powg 11-19-2010 08:19 PM

ar's and boar hunting