New to Hunting and new to Georgia.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Hunting Forum > New to Hunting and new to Georgia.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 02:15 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New to Hunting and new to Georgia.

Well like the headline says I am brand new to hunting and I just moved to the Augusta area in Georgia.
So I have never been hunting before but it is something that I am very interested in. I would really like to get a deer this hunting season.
But I do not know the first thing about hunting, that being said I am not new to firearms, I served in the US Army, deployed and I am an avid shooter. So I am not a complete idiot when it comes to shooting and firearms.
So here comes the questions, Do I need to take a hunters safety course or something out here ( Hopefully someone from the Georgia area will be able to answer this for me), Do I need to apply for tags or permits to hunt? I am able to hunt on the Military land so hopefully finding land will not be too difficult.
I am looking to pick up a Rem 700 in 7.62, I fired that weapon a little bit overseas so I am fairly comfortable with it. What else will I need besides the rifle and optic for a hunt, and what do I need to know/ do? I know that is a very broad question but if I can just get pointed in the right direction it would be great.
Thanks Everyone

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-28-2012, 02:24 AM   #2
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2919 Times on 1718 Posts

Georgiawildlife.com should answer most of your questions as far as laws go.