Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Hunting Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/)
-   -   new to hunting...any tips (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/new-hunting-any-tips-45092/)

glockkid23 07-12-2011 09:09 PM

new to hunting...any tips

im new to hunting, have been around guns my whole life just never have i gone hunting. Im 23 in the army currently stationed at fort riley but will be going to fort lewis. help wit where and how to go about some hunting trips for deer,elk low land birds and the such would be greatly appreciated.

cddbrowns 07-12-2011 09:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by glockkid23 (Post 539827)
im new to hunting, have been around guns my whole life just never have i gone hunting. Im 23 in the army currently stationed at fort riley but will be going to fort lewis. help wit where and how to go about some hunting trips for deer,elk low land birds and the such would be greatly appreciated.

First tip, dont use a glock to hunt with......

LOL! Just kiddin, I am going hunting for the first time this year too, just wanted to subscribe to the thread and get some info myself.

Gatoragn 07-12-2011 11:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by glockkid23 (Post 539827)

I am not sure where Ft. Lewis is, but the first place to check for possible hunting opportunities is on your base. Many military bases offer hunting to both service members and to the public.

Ploofy 07-13-2011 12:10 AM

Be patient, aim high, know what you need to get your target animal.

JRDale 08-15-2011 12:12 PM

Definitely check your base, here in Arizona camp navajo is in some of the best elk hunting in the state. Down south Ft Huachuca has some of the largest couse whitetail deer in the nation and big black bear.

MLRDist 08-15-2011 12:52 PM