Lost in the Ozark Forest

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Hunting Forum > Lost in the Ozark Forest

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2010, 03:52 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 15 Times on 6 Posts

Default Lost in the Ozark Forest

Another Hunting story; For those reading this post, I teach Hunter Safety and also I am a Army Veteran. One of the programs I pay very strict attention to in both the Army and the Civilian life is the Survival training.
Why? Because I am always getting lost.
It was back in Missouri, the scene of many of my crimes. I was deer hunting (rifle season this time) and found nothing on my brother-in-laws farm so decided to hop the fence and start hunting in the Ozark National forest. I had been in this area only a few times but was confident I couldn't get lost.
WRONG.
I was walking along and saw a rather strange tree. It was shaped like the letter Y and looked for all the world like a sling shot. Looking at it and thinking 'what a sling shot that would make heh heh,' I walked on and about an hour or so later I came around a hill and there was a tree that looked like a sling shot.
Holy Moly I thought.
The place is full of those sling shot tees. But just because I had a hunch, I went up to the tree and taking out my hunting knife I cut on the bark a big X, and then continued hunting. Two hours later I was really pooped and had decided to go home when I came around this hill and there was a third slingshot tree! I went up to it and checked and sure enough there was my X knife cut. I had a real bad feeling I was going around in circles.
So drawing on my extensive Army survival training I came up with a plan. In the Missouri Ozarks the roads are almost always on the ridges and hills, because the valleys are full of rivers and flooding 'cricks'. So my plan was to only go up hill and eventually I would come to a road and then I would be saved.