Hunter Safety The Illinois Hunter Education Program consists of a minimum of 10 hours of instruction. The educational material is based on a sixth-grade reading level. These courses cover the basics of hunter responsibility, wildlife conservation and identification, firearms and ammunition, field safety, wildlife management, first aid, archery, muzzleloading, and state regulations.
Persons completing the minimum 10 hours of instruction and successfully completing the final examination will receive a State of Illinois Certificate of Competency and a graduate patch.
WHO MUST TAKE THE COURSE
On January 1, 1996, a State law was passed that anyone born on or after January 1, 1980 may not be issued a hunting license unless:
•1) they present a valid Hunter Education Certificate of Competency issued by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Safety Education Division, or
•2) they present evidence he or she has held a hunting license issued by the State of Illinois or another state in a prior year.
Many states are now requiring adult hunters to furnish evidence of having completed a Hunter Education Course prior to issuance of a non-resident license.
TWO WAYS TO TAKE THE COURSE
The traditional and preferred hunter education method is through a 10 hour instructor-led class and demonstrations. Classes may be a few hours a night for 2-4 nights or a full weekend class. The final class will end with a test to pass the course. Interested individuals may call 1-800-832-2599 or check List of Education Courses by County
After the above you will need to purchase a hunting license but because you are under 16 you will not need to purchase a habitat stamp and you will also need to hunt with an adult until you are 16 yrs of age. You will also need a FOID card if you have a gun in your possession . As far as the potato projectile goes your now Illegal . I know this we had 2 of them confiscated 10 yrs ago .