Hunting rifle for daughter - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Hunting Forum > Hunting rifle for daughter

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2008, 05:20 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I have been teaching hunter safety for 13 years and I believe that the old model 94s are the most dangerous fireare ever made, beside, they hurt when you shoot them a lot. Hard to practise with a gun that is hurting you. Also, to unload the dang thing you have to jack the lever and run each round through the action, not too safe. Marlin introduced a cross-block safety on their levers so after cocking, the hammer will not hit the firing pin if the hammer slips out of small cold hands. Although the 30-30 round has probably killed more whitetails, rounds such as:7mm-08, 7x57, 25-06, .223 are very suited for whitetails without all the kicks.

Old 05-09-2008, 08:20 PM   #22

Liked 201 Times on 138 Posts

I think an SKS would be a good rifle for a young lady just getting into the hunting world. I'm not just saying that cause I have one and love it, but think about it. They're cheap, not to mention the ammo is also cheap. They have enough power to kill a deer, heck you could kill a chevy engine block if you wanted (trust me I know). The main reason I suggest an SKS is because the recoil isn't that bad, about like a 4-10 shotgun, perfect for a young, female hunter. Plus, if she wants to, there are plenty of aftermarket parts so she can customize it any way she wants. I don't know what everything costs in your neck of the woods, but I got mine for $150, I live in Indiana.

Old 11-23-2009, 05:47 PM   #23

Liked 57 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 44

[QUOTE=hunter Joe;17980]I have been teaching hunter safety for 13 years and I believe that the old model 94s are the most dangerous fireare ever made,