Help regarding hunting with a Mosin Nagant 91/30
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Hunting Forum > Help regarding hunting with a Mosin Nagant 91/30

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 10:07 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Help regarding hunting with a Mosin Nagant 91/30

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum, so sorry if I sound dumb. However, since this is my first time and stuff, I'd really like some help from those who hunt in North Texas.
I live in Fort Worth, and I'm about to buy a rifle for my first hunting trip, plans and preparations still in the works. Anyway, I've been trying to find out any info I could get, but my friend of kine told me that because of the rifle and/or it's ammunition it uses, I might not be able to use the rifle due to legal issues. I honestly didn't hear him clearly, but another friend too told me the same thing, though the same problem applied, no clear description of why. So I came hear to ask for help from any Texas Hunters who know the regulations of hunting in Texas, so if any of you can answer this question, and give a clear reason why, I'd really appreciate it.

* Why would a Mosin Nagant 91/30 be illegal to use in hunting in Texas? Is it because of the ammo? Or is it because of the muzzle velocity?

The one thing I'm worried about is muzzle velocity, cause the store owner said there are hunting rounds that this rifle can use, but I'd still like to know more as well. Any ideas on where I can look this up?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-21-2012, 10:14 PM   #2