Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Hunting Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/)
-   -   Help regarding hunting with a Mosin Nagant 91/30 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f50/help-regarding-hunting-mosin-nagant-91-30-a-60748/)

Craig_Junior 03-21-2012 11:07 PM

Help regarding hunting with a Mosin Nagant 91/30

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum, so sorry if I sound dumb. However, since this is my first time and stuff, I'd really like some help from those who hunt in North Texas.
I live in Fort Worth, and I'm about to buy a rifle for my first hunting trip, plans and preparations still in the works. Anyway, I've been trying to find out any info I could get, but my friend of kine told me that because of the rifle and/or it's ammunition it uses, I might not be able to use the rifle due to legal issues. I honestly didn't hear him clearly, but another friend too told me the same thing, though the same problem applied, no clear description of why. So I came hear to ask for help from any Texas Hunters who know the regulations of hunting in Texas, so if any of you can answer this question, and give a clear reason why, I'd really appreciate it.

* Why would a Mosin Nagant 91/30 be illegal to use in hunting in Texas? Is it because of the ammo? Or is it because of the muzzle velocity?

The one thing I'm worried about is muzzle velocity, cause the store owner said there are hunting rounds that this rifle can use, but I'd still like to know more as well. Any ideas on where I can look this up?

tCan 03-21-2012 11:14 PM

The "spam can" military surplus ammo is not ideal for hunting. It is powerful, and very deadly, but there are better rounds out there for hunting. Look for some soft tips.

As for regulations, check the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department's website for where and what you want to hunt.
http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/