Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Hunting Forum > First hunting rifle

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 10:26 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 4

Default First hunting rifle

I was looking for some advice on getting my first hunting rifle. I have no experience hunting, but I own a Ruger 10/22, so it won't be my first gun.

I am looking to hunt deer, nothing bigger. I have been thinking about a Savage Axis or Weatherby Vanguard. I would prefer it to be under $450. (I am a college student so cant be too expensive.)

Also, being a new hunter with no one to teach me what else besides a hunter's safety course do I need? How do i find land to hunt. (Michigan)

Thanks for the help.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-12-2012, 10:50 PM   #2

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts

putting up 3x5 cards at local ranges, gunshops, laundromats, and grocery stores has always worked for me. offer to PAY for the right to hunt, by the way, dont be a cheapskate. that landowner is risking a lawsuit with every person he allows onto his property, so have some respect and rumenerate him for the risk that he is taking! I recommend a used, $400 (probably a scope already on it) Remington 308 autoloader. then you have fast repeat shots to stop a fleeing cripple, for self defense, for dog packs, or running coyotes, and the gas op action lessens the felt recoil, too.