Bad Venison?
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Hunting Forum > Bad Venison?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012, 07:17 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 991 Times on 499 Posts
Likes Given: 2547

Default Bad Venison?

This is the first year i've attempted deer steaks. In years past, i've always opted for jerky/snacksticks/burger combos.

So that being said, im no expert what so ever. I field dressed my kill within an hour of shooting it. It was not a gut shot, but I did clip the top of the stomach right at the end of field dressing, washed it out thoroughly with water.

Took the deer to a professional processor, got all my meat packaged, and brought it home, stuck it right in the deep freezer.

Today, I pulled out some leg steaks, let them thaw in the refrigerator for a while, long story short, when I went to open the package and set them up to be marinaded, it just didn't smell right to me.

I have nothing to compare it to - to my knowledge, i've never smelled rotten meat of any kind (except rotten nightcrawlers...those are horrid)

The only thing I can compare the smell to is what your hands smell like after field dressing.

Two things worry me that it might be spoiled:

#1.) When field dressing, I was concerned I may have left too much of the esophagus in...the thought didn't occur to me until after the fact however, so if this was the case, it was too late to do anything about

#2.) I ended up running some lukewarm water in the kitchen sink so to help the steaks thaw faster (they took all damn day!) and I forgot about them for a few hours past the thaw point. The package was still slightly cooler than room temperature, but was by no means cold when I made it back to get it.

I took a picture of the meat. It does not feel "smiley" nor is there any snotty portions that came off the meat.