Savage 11 VT .308 for comp shooting?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Competition Shooting > Savage 11 VT .308 for comp shooting?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2014, 05:36 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Savage 11 VT .308 for comp shooting?

Hey Everyone!

I would like to use this rifle to shoot long range as accurately as I can without spending thousands on it. So this is what I am thinking but I am new to this and need some guidance.

First, replace the stock with something much more ridged and adjustable.
- Bell and Carson tactical? (adjustable $500)
- Choate Tactical? (not adjustable $200)

Second, better scope. (I temporally installed a UTG 6-24x56)
- $600 scope? I have no idea here. I have a 10-50x60 Nikko Stirling on my FT Air Rifle that's pretty good for the money. Not sure what and additional $300 will get me as far as clarity etc.

What other mods? Glass bedding the stock? and ????

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-23-2014, 04:36 PM   #2
Crazy Azz Redneck
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1256 Times on 713 Posts
Likes Given: 598

While the Savage Hog Hunter is a great rifle,it probably isn't the best choice for a long range platform. But,that depends on your definition of long range.
It has a 20" barrel,and you will be hard pressed getting the velocity high enough to push a 308 caliber bullet past 800 yards before it goes subsonic. There are many other calibers that are better suited for shooting long range,and in order to get the most out of any rifle,you really need to handload your ammo for whatever caliber you choose.