Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Competition Shooting > Protecting a match grade stainless barrel?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2009, 05:30 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Protecting a match grade stainless barrel?

Lots of opinions in previous threads regarding general practices for cleaning and maintenance, but I'd appreciate opinions on premium tools and supplies and the methods to use them. I'm a newbie to competition and don't want to screw up my brand new barrel before I even get started or affect my ability to score. Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-31-2009, 09:59 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8406 Times on 3642 Posts
Likes Given: 1299

this says it quite well. Note the term PUSH with patches, not push/pull.

Barrel Cleaning and Break-In - L. Bengtson Arms Co.

<--- Your Moderators at our weekly Troll Hunt

Old 11-01-2009, 02:45 AM   #3

Very good article. Thanks. Can I use a copper brush on a S/S barrel, or should I use a nylon or other synthetic brush?

Old 11-01-2009, 07:05 AM   #4
FTF_MODERATOR.png

I know of no reason NOT to use a bronze brush on a s/s bbl. Steel of the barrel is several times harder than the bronze brush. Fouling starts to accumulate in the corners of the grooves- it takes a brush to get it out. A lot of folks are fans of the boresnake, but that is not going to fully cover the depth/ width of the grooves.

Old 11-01-2009, 09:33 AM   #5

Liked 200 Times on 110 Posts
Likes Given: 162

c3shooter speaks the truth.

A couple of things I would reiterate from that article is: