Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Competition Shooting (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f48/)
-   -   Protecting a match grade stainless barrel? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f48/protecting-match-grade-stainless-barrel-19669/)

DougG 10-31-2009 05:30 PM

Protecting a match grade stainless barrel?

Lots of opinions in previous threads regarding general practices for cleaning and maintenance, but I'd appreciate opinions on premium tools and supplies and the methods to use them. I'm a newbie to competition and don't want to screw up my brand new barrel before I even get started or affect my ability to score. Thanks.

c3shooter 10-31-2009 09:59 PM

this says it quite well. Note the term PUSH with patches, not push/pull.

Barrel Cleaning and Break-In - L. Bengtson Arms Co.

DougG 11-01-2009 02:45 AM

Very good article. Thanks. Can I use a copper brush on a S/S barrel, or should I use a nylon or other synthetic brush?

c3shooter 11-01-2009 07:05 AM

I know of no reason NOT to use a bronze brush on a s/s bbl. Steel of the barrel is several times harder than the bronze brush. Fouling starts to accumulate in the corners of the grooves- it takes a brush to get it out. A lot of folks are fans of the boresnake, but that is not going to fully cover the depth/ width of the grooves.

Highpower 11-01-2009 09:33 AM

c3shooter speaks the truth. :)

A couple of things I would reiterate from that article is:

Use a coated one piece cleaning rod. Do NOT use a sectional or "jointed" rod! I prefer the Dewey brand cleaning rods myself...

Also use a bore guide, and clean from the chamber end of the barrel. (If at all possible.)

Never dip your bore brushes in your bottle of bore solvent. Use a squirt bottle or similar to apply the solvent to your brushes and patches. That prevents contaminating your solvent supply...