newbie question on long distance shooting
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Competition Shooting > newbie question on long distance shooting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 03:59 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default newbie question on long distance shooting

Hey guys/girls

New to the forms was interested into getting into long range rife shooting, I live in Canada and have a non-restricted license, and am wondering what would be a good rife to get into shooting/ learning how to shoot a mile+, i have been shooting for a few years now and have always loved the long shot. Any ideas/comments on a first rife that I should be looking into to get to my goal of shooting at a mile? have a limited "student" budget. Any hints on getting me to where i want be?
thanks for the input

** shoot safe, long and accurate**

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-14-2012, 10:33 PM   #2

Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Your question isn't all that easily answered, it is a lot more than what kind of rifle.
...but...
I figure at the least, a bolt action rifle chambered in 300 Dakota Magnum has the potential to reach 1 mile accurately.

I would suggest getting a .308 bolt action first and learn about reloading and long range shooting. You'll need to be committed to learning all you can over a good amount of time to develop the skills and gather the proper equipment for 1 mile shooting. It takes a lot more than a rifle.

Old 02-14-2012, 11:26 PM   #3
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2624 Times on 1283 Posts
Likes Given: 1308

TheKid,