Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Competition Shooting > Which for IDPA? More questions.....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2011, 09:41 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 21 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonyaeger View Post
Not even for a day? NGIB has been very successful owning pistols for only a day.
Very true. As an active trader I keep an eye on what folks want. I really wanted the Tac Ops my buddy had and I knew I could get a trade together using the Glock as part of the package - hence I bought the 26 as it was priced right.

Over the years I've had a 19, 21, 23, 26, and 27 for short periods. I had the 21 the longest, probably 2 months as I really tried to "like" it but I just didn't shoot it well so it went away...

Last edited by NGIB; 04-02-2011 at 09:44 AM.

Old 04-02-2011, 11:17 PM   #12

Liked 123 Times on 92 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGIB View Post
While I do not shoot IDPA, I do know that it's focus is on a gun you'd carry every day. The scenarios they present are common defensive situations so long barrels and steel frames are not necessarily an advantage. My buddy Silentghost has shot a lot of IDPA matches and he used the Kimber Ultra Carry which was also the gun he carried every day (until I got it away from him). The goal as I see it is to improve your skill with your carry gun - so what kind of gun will you carry?

The other shooting venues like IPSC and USPSA tend to focus on more specialty types of guns and in many cases specialty loads as well. The one nice thing about IDPA is it focuses on the equipment you probably already have if you do carry a gun - like holsters, mag carriers, extra mags and so forth. If I were to start IDPA, I'd most likely use that same Kimber that served SG so well as it's the gun I carry and I have all the stuff for it already...

IDPA is a GAME. A game that makes great practice.