can I get some help?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Competition Shooting > can I get some help?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 04:45 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Hey, I'm 17 and from Illinois and I would love to get into action pistol. Does anyone have any advice on a Good place to start? I have access to a S&W M&P 40, Glock 17 and a kimber custom II .45 . Which one should I train with also? I'm no stranger to a firearm but I have no experience with this kind of shooting.

Last edited by were153; 10-31-2011 at 04:48 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-31-2011, 04:50 AM   #2

Liked 32 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 4

You can check out these folks International Defensive Pistol Association

People get the government they deserve.

Old 10-31-2011, 04:52 AM   #3

Liked 9206 Times on 5058 Posts
Likes Given: 74

What exactly do you want to do? I'd recommend IDPA myself, but first things first:

You have to have a gun. Not knowing where your from, you need to check the local laws. In my state the law allows all ages to transport or carry a firearm to a legitimate sporting event. So you'd be in the clear at 17.

You have to have a gun, that you can shoot. Take some classes and get some training. Be ready to invest some money into ammo.

Before you can have a gun, you need to find the one you want. Go to a range that rents handguns and try as many as you can. Look for comfort and pointability. If you have those 2, accuracy should fall right into place with practice, unless the gun's just total crap.