Anybody heard of cowboy shoots? - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Competition Shooting > Anybody heard of cowboy shoots?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2013, 01:28 AM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts

I'm a new member here; I'm in my fourth year shooting cowboy action. My wife joined in last year. It's a great couples and family sport and it's a great group of folks; lots of cameraderie in cowboy shooting.

I've seen some of the most skilled shooters in this sport than I've seen anywhere. We have a mix of folks; some are very competitive, some are less concerned about score. Everyone is mixed up together and there's room for everyone.

We wear Western clothes and everyone has an "alias" but it's not "historical re-enactment". Some folks are really into the costuming; some are not so much. The minimum costume requirements are really pretty easy to meet.

We don't require that people acquire all the hardware before starting out. Many clubs offer "new shooter clinics" where they outfit you with everything you need to try it out. We often lend guns to people who are just starting out. It took me a full year to assemble all my guns and gear; people loaned me what I didn't have. When I tried to thank them or pay them back they always said, "you can help the next new shooter who comes along".

Old 06-14-2013, 05:37 AM   #22
Podcast Host/ American Patriot/DAV!
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 3154 Times on 2143 Posts
Likes Given: 682

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrunchyFrog
I'm a new member here; I'm in my fourth year shooting cowboy action. My wife joined in last year. It's a great couples and family sport and it's a great group of folks; lots of cameraderie in cowboy shooting.