Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f47/)
-   -   Transfer/Sale of NFA Gun (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f47/transfer-sale-nfa-gun-21657/)

GPyle 12-30-2009 10:14 PM

Transfer/Sale of NFA Gun

Sorry if this is redundant. I'm a newbie.

My father has recently become very ill, and I am selling off his gun collection. One of the firearms i'm responsible for selling is a full-auto British Sten. As far as I know all his paperwork is correct for this gun. he bought it about 15 or more years ago, and i remember him going through a long legal process with a lot of paperwork to make this purchase.

My question, is what is involved in making a legal transfer or sale of this weapon? Can I even sell it for him? Or do I need him to transfer it to me somehow so that I can sell it?

Thank you.

c3shooter 12-31-2009 05:33 AM

You do not want to transfer the STEN to you- that is a rather involved process and requires payment of a $200 tax(unless you want to keep it). IF the STEN is properly registered with the BATFE, then it can be transferred to another private citizen. This would be handled by a firearms dealer that holds a Class III endorsement to his 01 FFL (dealer's license) Class III refers to NFA firearms, like full autos, suppressors, etc. Locate a dealer, and he can guide you thru the process, aid in the sale, or purchase it himself for resale. LEGAL, papered full autos are scarce- In May 1986, they cut off registering any additional full autos to private citizens, so price on them has jumped. If you cannot locate a Class III dealer, send me an IM, will see if I can help. C3

GPyle 12-31-2009 01:05 PM

Thanks so much. This is the information I needed. I guess the only other logical question I would have before selling is how to obtain a value for something like this and other historic firearms?