Silencers
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion > Silencers

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 03:54 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Silencers

Know all the things and such you have to go through to get a silencer, but after you buy it can the county boys come up to your house and say you have to show it to them? I really need some answers and proof. I can't find anywhere that it says they can but I'm not good at finding stuff, so can anyone help?

you arent ready to live until your ready to die

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-01-2012, 04:22 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5795 Times on 3026 Posts
Likes Given: 394

Only a batfe agent may demand proof. That proof is in the form of a tax stamp attached to your registration form. Since its a tax document only the taxing agency has a right to see it.

It is bad practice however to not show it to leo if asked while using your nfa item. Since that often leads to confiscation and a garunteed meeting with the batfe.

Since this legal advice im suggesting you contact an actual nfa familiar attourney.

Theydont just knock on your any old time. The interweb genius have confused how the batfe treats ffl licensees with tax stamp holders. Two different things.

Tax stamp holders are not subject to batfe compliance inspection. That is reserved for ffl holders who have bound books. Even then they dont just show up. They call ahead setup a time to meet.

If you want proof its all listed on the batfe website or you can call the batfe or send an email with your question.