Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f47/)
-   -   Silencers (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f47/silencers-65564/)

00possum 06-01-2012 04:54 AM

Silencers

Know all the things and such you have to go through to get a silencer, but after you buy it can the county boys come up to your house and say you have to show it to them? I really need some answers and proof. I can't find anywhere that it says they can but I'm not good at finding stuff, so can anyone help?

JonM 06-01-2012 05:22 AM

Only a batfe agent may demand proof. That proof is in the form of a tax stamp attached to your registration form. Since its a tax document only the taxing agency has a right to see it.

It is bad practice however to not show it to leo if asked while using your nfa item. Since that often leads to confiscation and a garunteed meeting with the batfe.

Since this legal advice im suggesting you contact an actual nfa familiar attourney.

Theydont just knock on your any old time. The interweb genius have confused how the batfe treats ffl licensees with tax stamp holders. Two different things.

Tax stamp holders are not subject to batfe compliance inspection. That is reserved for ffl holders who have bound books. Even then they dont just show up. They call ahead setup a time to meet.

If you want proof its all listed on the batfe website or you can call the batfe or send an email with your question.

c3shooter 06-01-2012 05:25 AM

Unless you have state specific laws on suppressors, it is a FEDERAL matter. The county has nothing to do with it. Also your form that shows where you registered the suppressor is a tax document, which local law enforcement does NOT have a right to have.

(Most folks do not believe the above- check it out)

The BATFE has rights to do things with NFA firearms (and a suppressor IS legally a firearm)