Question on NICS Delay/Denial
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion > Question on NICS Delay/Denial

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013, 09:09 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Question on NICS Delay/Denial

I bought a few AR lowers the other day from a LGS. Did the background check and got a delay response. This is my first firearm purchase and I know there are tons of NICS checks going on right now so I thought nothing of it. The night before the 3 day max wait ended, I received a call from the LGS that I was denied and could come pick up a paper to file an appeal. However, less than 5 minutes later, they called me back and let me know that the NICS system called them back and gave me a proceed.

Has anyone ever seen this? I am not a prohibited person as I don't fall under any of the deny categories. I was arrested 10+ years ago on what would have been a felony charge (non-violent), which I figured contributed to the delay, but charges were never filed. I have never heard or read about anybody who was denied but then approved minutes later without having to file an appeal. My LGS is closed today so I can't go pick up the lowers or ask them about it, but I wanted to get some opinions if I should talk to a lawyer before picking them up. I assume I should be fine since I did get the proceed, but if anyone has ever seen this before I'd love to hear what happened.