Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f47/)
-   -   Parental signature (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f47/parental-signature-72513/)

Huntingtimeadventures 09-16-2012 03:56 AM

Parental signature

Hi everyone, i was wondering if in the state of Massachusetts if you could get a firearm with a parental signature. Im getting my fid soon.

ineverFTF 09-16-2012 03:59 AM

First off welcome to FTF. Stop by the intro section and tell us a bit about yourself.

As far as i know, nobody under the age of 18 may purchase a long gun. Now if you have your parents 400$ and they have there card or whatever you need in MA then they can buy you a rifle, and "gift" it to you. Making it legally your gun, under there name.

I am no expert, someone please correct me if i am wrong.

kytowboater 09-16-2012 04:11 AM

Welcome to FTF. Make sure it's all done legal. And not a "straw purchase" which is IIEGAL!

c3shooter 09-16-2012 01:30 PM

The issue is not only State law, but FEDERAL law. Persons under 18 may not buy a firearm from a dealer, and you must be 21 to buy anything but a rifle or shotgun. In any state. Title 18, US Code, Section 922.

A "strawman" sale (which is illegal) is when someone else buys a gun on your behalf. A legit GIFT (say, from your parents) is NOT a strawman sale.

Fathead00 09-16-2012 04:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by c3shooter
The issue is not only State law, but FEDERAL law. Persons under 18 may not buy a firearm from a dealer, and you must be 21 to buy anything but a rifle or shotgun. In any state. Title 18, US Code, Section 922.

A "strawman" sale (which is illegal) is when someone else buys a gun on your behalf. A legit GIFT (say, from your parents) is NOT a strawman sale.