Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > NFA/Class 3 & FFL Discussion > Buying a Stripped Lower if I'm under 21

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 04:53 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 4

Default Buying a Stripped Lower if I'm under 21

Im looking to build my first AR 15. Problem is I'm 18. I realize it is illegal for me to buy stripped lower from a FFL dealer. However, I was wondering if it would be legal for me to buy the stripped lower online with my debit card, but have my mom pick it up from the FFL dealer and pay for the transfer?

If it helps any I am a Michigan resident.

Thanks.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-18-2012, 08:17 AM   #2
Feedback Score: 3 reviews

Liked 180 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 46

Then i assume when your mom picks it up from your ffl/lgs, it will be registered under her name?. Who's buying and paying it online is not important. Whose name it will be registered is the important part. Just becareful that your mom won't fall into "straw purchase" thing.
Correct me if i'm wrong.

Old 09-18-2012, 09:19 AM   #3

Liked 181 Times on 102 Posts
Likes Given: 407

No, you can't do this. This is considered a straw purchase. You personally purchasing the lower, and having your mother get it for you is prohibited unless she purchases it, keeps it under her name, and you leave it in the house you should be fine.

Check local laws also.

Old 09-18-2012, 09:48 AM   #4

Liked 1689 Times on 1025 Posts
Likes Given: 354