Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Curio & Relic Discussion > Need an ASSIST

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2007, 07:30 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Need an ASSIST

Hi - newbie here, but not new to C&R's. However, I ran into one that I can't figure out. It seems to be a 7.62x39 weapon, with a detachable box magazine, and a bolt carrier much like an SKS, but it aint no SKS! There is no gas port/operating rod on top of the barrel - rather it seems to be blowback operated, using a piston & operating system that seems only to dislodge the fired casing anough for the blowback to take over. This system actually wraps around the barrel. The bolt itself appears to work by pushing the round nearly into the chamber, then "clamping down" on the round via a jaw-like plate on the top of the bolt, operated by a fairly lightweight U-shaped spring.

Takedown is similar to an SKS, but there is no latch to turn and release - one simply pushes the upper bolt housing all the way forward and lifts up, releasing the recoil spring. The upper forearm cover is held in place by a pair of spring-loaded catches on either side of the weapon, just ahead of the front sight.

The front sight is NOT hooded, and the rear sight elevator graduates up to 900 meters.

The ONLY markings on it are : she
007 56
Serial Number starts G68, and has 4 more numbers after the 8

Anybody know what the hell this thing is ???

UPDATE - 06/29/2007 : 4 Pictures appear following

Last edited by mikeb82301; 06-29-2007 at 04:53 PM. Reason: Added Photos

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here