Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Curio & Relic Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f37/)
-   -   Garand manufacturer (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f37/garand-manufacturer-93262/)

KJG67 07-02-2013 09:57 PM

Garand manufacturer

Just wanted to pick your brains as I'm still learning.

For a range shooter and recreational CMP match competing, any preferences (or not) on a H&R, Winchester, or Springfield? I'm talking Sevice Grade, Service Grade Special or Special Grade only.

I know there's a lot more to consider, but any practical issues between the three? (Deliberately leaving IH out of this).

c3shooter 07-02-2013 10:32 PM

While it may have started life as a Winchester, or Springfield, with the exception of a few weapons tucked away in collections, most all of them will have been thru tech inspections, parts replacements or depot rebuilds. MILSPEC on parts was very tight, with the goal of interchangeability- and they are going to have parts by several makers.

I would be looking at wear- throat and muzzle, and the date on the barrel- later, better. Others will have different opinions.

JonM 07-03-2013 11:04 PM

im in agreement with C3.

the M1 is accurate but its plagued by issues not related to your intended purpose. about the tiume you get it dialed in shooting great is juuuuuust about the time something like the oprod or bolt or gas piston assemble go tits up...

they are great combat guns but they arent that hot for long extended range sessions. if you shoot one a lot your going to wear parts fast. they really arent that sturdy of a design. the M1A is plagued with the same issues.

there is a reason you dont see either in cmp matches very much once the AR15 was allowed to compete in that class.

that being said i own a M1 garand and love to shoot it.

KJG67 07-04-2013 03:08 AM