Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Curio & Relic Discussion (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f37/)
-   -   Black Powder .32 H&R ammo (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f37/black-powder-32-h-r-ammo-64673/)

JIMV 05-17-2012 08:34 PM

Black Powder .32 H&R ammo

Does anyone know where one can buy a couple of boxes of .32 S&W ammo for a H&R .32 model 1895 top break??

donthav1 05-18-2012 01:28 AM

your best bet would be to reload your own, i don't think anyone commercially loads them in black powder now.

.32 S&W never was a very powerful round, even the modern ammo only runs about 700 fps & a little less than 100 lb ft. of energy at the muzzle, which can't be any higher than the black powder rounds were. if your firearm is in good condition, you MAY be able to safely fire the smokless stuff. of course i am not a balistics engineer or firearm designer so take my advice at face value

texaswoodworker 05-18-2012 03:13 AM

32 H&R is a little more powerful than 32 S&W. I'd be extremely careful if you decide to use full powered modern ammo in it. You best bet would be reloading as previously stated. Plus, regular 32 H&R is expensive. It cost around $30 per 50 rd box around here, if you can even find it. I had to look 60 miles away to even find some, and even then the choices were extremely limited. Black powder loads would probably be extremely hard to find.

JIMV 05-18-2012 04:18 PM

I am sorry...I was in a hurry and not clear. The revolver is a H&R .32 top break manufactured in 1895 and chambered for .32 S&W shorts in black powder. The revolver is in excellent condition but I will not fire modern ammo through it and have no reloading skills, experience or gear.

What I would like to find is a source for a couple of boxes of .32S&W shorts loaded for black powder so as to let me at least shoot the thing a bit.

hiwall 05-18-2012 04:55 PM