Attic Find - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Curio & Relic Discussion >

Attic Find

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2010, 03:28 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Where was your grandfather in November of 1963? Never mind, it couldn't be...

Old 07-08-2010, 03:29 AM   #12

Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts

Yes JPyle, but I was referring to it looked like it was a sporterized military rifle with an original barrel. I don't know of any old military rifles that used a barrel of 25cal or smaller. So unless the barrel was sleeved I don't see it as being a 25-06.
Also the bolt stampings just "look" like a part number to me, but as I said" Im no expert"
I would suggest having a smith do a cast of the chamber to be safe.
Beyond the speed of sound---
Fire it up, Let the engines roll
It's time to burn it down

Old 07-08-2010, 03:29 AM   #13
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1176 Times on 511 Posts
Likes Given: 2978

Not funny.
“If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen.”Samuel Adams

Old 07-08-2010, 03:51 AM   #14

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Yeah... I'm going to go with a "no" on that one, Vague.

Here are a few more pics of some of the numbers and stamps on it. Put that little Canon to the test. Sorry if they didn't come out too great.

Old 07-08-2010, 03:52 AM   #15

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Started working on some of the rust. Good lord... its a dirty dirty rifle.

Old 07-08-2010, 04:41 AM   #16

Liked 781 Times on 452 Posts
Likes Given: 499