Advice for a 3 Yr Collector - (if you can call me that)
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Curio & Relic Discussion > Advice for a 3 Yr Collector - (if you can call me that)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2010, 05:37 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default Advice for a 3 Yr Collector - (if you can call me that)

I have been buying guns for about 4 years now, and began an interest in collecting about 3 years ago. I have a son, age 7, and i would like to pass down my "collection" to him in 20 -30 years. I don't really have any older guns, but have tried to buy with the future in mind.

I am really learning a lot reading the forum, as i am VERY GREEN at this point. I was hoping to get some expert advice on a few guns that i have (as i am going to have to reduce my current stock by about ten guns), and get your opinion on the guns with "special" features. Do you think these guns are a fad, or something that will be valuable as a collection piece 20 - 30 years from now.
The guns i am wondering about are:
Walther PK 380 "First Edition" marking on them - i have read they only made 2000
Colt Pocket 9 - Karh had a lawsuit that supposedly stopped production and i have read they made an estimated 8000 total of these
Desert Eagle 50AE - i got the gold titanium finish (not tiger striped) in hopes that it would not feel so "pimp-ish" in 20 - 30 yrs
18.5" Mossberg 500 with the Knoxx Sidewinder kit installed with the heat shield, stock, and 10 round drum - Supposedly Knoxx could not manufacture them economically due to an issue with their supplier, and only made them for a short time (i think one year). Seems to be the one with the highest demand out of the four i listed. Some have had problems with their kit not feeding, but mine has never malfunctioned once