Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > DIY Projects > Re-bluing?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2013, 07:50 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 22 Times on 14 Posts

Default Re-bluing?

I was wondering if its worth striping and re finishing a gun yourself or just have a professional do it? I've never tried anything like this before and don't really know what's involved

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-28-2013, 07:55 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8604 Times on 3730 Posts
Likes Given: 1322

Depends on the gun, and what your expectations are of the end result.

I HAVE blued some firearms, both hot blue, cold blue, and rust blue- just to see what they would look like.

Rebluing an entire gun, you will be disappointed with cold blue. Hot blue is a lot of work, and rather dangerous.

If you have a good gunsmith, that would be a good call.

<--- Your Moderators at our weekly Troll Hunt

Old 08-28-2013, 08:55 PM   #3
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....

Liked 20856 Times on 11856 Posts
Likes Given: 52395

i have to agree with C3.

i too have done some at the house with acceptable results. have done smaller parts or pistols with decent results.

IMO, there just isn't any comparison in the quality of having it done correctly with hot blueing. especially if doing much larger parts like a barreled action or a shotgun.

i would say it depends on what you expect and how large are the parts you want to blue as to whether doing it yourself or having it professionally done.

Old 08-28-2013, 09:26 PM   #4

Liked 9203 Times on 5058 Posts