Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   DIY Projects (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f35/)
-   -   My first design thru build (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f35/my-first-design-thru-build-54186/)

dystopian-gunsmith 12-26-2011 10:11 PM

My first design thru build

5 Attachment(s)
This is my first post, so be kind. I'm 19 years old and have been aspiring to be a gunsmith since I was 8 years old. I was blessed with acess to a machine shop over the last 2 years, and I would say that I am a skilled machinist.
Well here it is, it's a closed bolt hammer fired SMG, semi only of
course. The bolt is the rear of a CZ handgun slide I hacked off. It took eight months from idea to finish, and since no-one has ever made this particular gun before there were problems every step of the way. I live in nevada so it's toatally legal. If any one is interested in this ill post schematics and more pics.

trip286 12-26-2011 10:37 PM

Bwahahaha, that's beautiful! Good job, good job indeed! Its real nice to see such fine work!

2 questions
1. Why no sights or trigger guard?
2. If building one like this, from a blank slate, why such a heavy Thompson influence?

These aren't criticisms, I ask because I'm curious.

Lets get a range report too!

Hesher420 12-27-2011 01:32 AM

Looks amazing! I love making my stuff "mine" by customizing it, but thats a whole new level of custom!

dystopian-gunsmith 12-27-2011 01:37 AM

10 Attachment(s)
Thanks!
No trigger guard or sights because it's not finished yet. Haha I also need to blue it as well. I bought some blue wonder home blueing it hasn't come In yet. But I'll put pics up after its blued.