Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > DIY Projects > Mosin Nagant Mods

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2013, 12:24 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillDeShivs View Post
My weapons are just fine. I was an FFL and a gunsmith/engraver for 30 years. I'm also a cutler and a jeweler. I think I know my way around guns and mechanicals. Google my name sometime if you are interested.
Its all just a matter of what you want to risk and i wasnt saying u didnt know your way sir

Old 10-14-2013, 10:51 PM   #12

Liked 48 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 44

If you want to mod a Mosin to end up with a cheap modern type sporting rifle, you will only end up with a cheap kind of sporting rifle that cost more than a factory made, bottom end sporting rifle. I did a totally reversible mod on a Mosin including; a bent bolt that I bent, a timney trigger, composite stock, polished bolt, recrown. scope mount made from an original rear sight mount, new sling and swivels and finish on the stock. I have more $$$ in than a new gun would cost me not to mention hours of time. It is not near as accurate as most any bottom end new guns. I learned a bit and enjoyed doing it, but I knew all of this when I started so don't be disillusioned with the outcome and have a ball turning a $150.00 piece of history into a $85.00 sporting rifle, it's yours to do what you want to it. Pictures are pre scope and final finish and bent bolt.
rifle.jpg
butt.jpg
fore.jpg

"War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling, which thinks nothing is worth war, is worse. A man who has nothing which he cares more about than his own personal safety is a miserable creature, and has no chance of being free unless he is made free and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself" John Stuart Mill