Looking to build my first..
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > DIY Projects > Looking to build my first..

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 04:20 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Looking to build my first..

Hey guys, I'd like to put together an AR and I've never built a gun before. I need a shopping list. I wouldn't even know where to order the parts from. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-26-2012, 05:16 PM   #2
Retired
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2962 Times on 1708 Posts
Likes Given: 1272

Do a search of a user's manual. Most of the time they will have a schematic of the firearm and the correct part names.

Amendment II:
"A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."

Life Member NRA
Life Member NAHC
Former President of the ECPT (Eifel Combat Pistol Team)

Old 01-26-2012, 05:47 PM   #3

Liked 1133 Times on 737 Posts
Likes Given: 2021

are you looking to build your upper ? its really not much cheaper to buy the upper in parts not to mention buying the tools to put it together will probably cost more than a complete .
You will need a complete upper w/ bolt carrier group and charging handle , Stripped lower, lower parts kit , pistol grip unless this comes in the lower parts kit , fore arm grip, stock , buffer kit containing buffer, buffer tube and spring , plate and stock ,
Im sure I forgot something

Old 01-27-2012, 12:24 PM   #4

Thanks guys!

Old 01-30-2012, 12:34 PM   #5