Home made holster
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > DIY Projects > Home made holster

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 11:35 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts

Default Home made holster

Im thinking of making my own holster. Im not a huge fan of kydex, and would prefer leather (more my style). I've never worked with leather before. Any tips? Also would like to see if i could make a pouch of sorts for my can of mace. I do need it to have belt loops (im only 18 so i can only open carry). Note; i live in Arizona, so any tips that would help keep it from getting hot (if thats possible) would be great. Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-01-2013, 11:45 AM   #2
Devil's Advocate and Provocateur
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 1337 Times on 701 Posts
Likes Given: 612

YouTube is your friend in this situation! There are many videos on both leather and Kydex holster-making. Just remember that you should probably do a few practice runs on cheap materials and then use the best quality materials you can for the final, usable product.

Good luck!

“Malo periculosam, libertatem quam quietam servitutem." (I prefer the tumult of liberty to the quiet of servitude.). Thomas Jefferson

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."

-Edmund Burke, Loosely translated from Thoughts on the Cause of Present Discontents. (1770)

axxe55 Likes This 
Old 07-01-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2919 Times on 1718 Posts

You can buy a complete kit from Tandy leather.