Gun Cleaning Input - Page 31
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > DIY Projects > Gun Cleaning Input

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 12:20 AM   #301
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I'm no expert, but I clean my 9mm after every trip to the range and clean my rifles as well.

Old 10-04-2011, 12:22 AM   #302

Default rust never sleeps....................

I clean my ccw pistols after each use. smith and wesson model 638 revolver, and glock g26 semi auto. I use balistol to clean everything. I watch hitchcock 45 on( you tube) and follow his lead. I feel a little goes a long way and try not to overlube. I have a shotgun (mossberg 500 pump) and tend to clean a couple of times a year, or after any use.................Hope this helps.

Old 10-04-2011, 12:23 AM   #303
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Gun cleaning

What is your criteria for cleaning your guns?

Do you clean based on rounds fired, time since last cleaning, condition of gun, etc.
I clean every time I shoot, regardless of number of rounds fired. I run an oily patch through the barrel if I've been unsuccsessfully hunting.

How do you clean your guns?

What products do you use and what methods to thorough cleaning.

Run a dry patch through the barrel to get out as much carbon as possible.

Then run many patches dipped in Hoppe's Benchrest No 9 until the patch comes out the same color it went in. Sometimes this goes on for days until no blue or black.
Unless I'm cleaning one of my Lee-Enfields. I have had two of them finally come clean, otherwise, I'm slowly removing sixty years of copper build up. I give a few days of solvent then oil them and continue after the next firing.

Then a final oily patch.

The bolt head and breech area are both cleaned out with Hoppe's Benchrest No 9 until clean. Then a layer of oil is applied. I use 3 in 1 oil.