DIY AR-15 Question. - Page 3
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > DIY Projects >

DIY AR-15 Question.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2013, 04:22 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2220 Times on 1525 Posts
Likes Given: 820

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowercaseJay View Post
I'm sorry, I didn't mean to imply that I'm a machinist by any means. I've had many jobs and hobbies that have made me familiar to a plethora of tools and machines and doing programming and 3D modeling for video games, I'm absolutely positive that I can wrap my head around CAD and g-code. I'm a CNC virgin, I agree, but nobody is born a professional and I don't expect this forum to be a replacement for school. I only want guidance so that I can succeed in school and in business, seeing as though neither one is really easy for a beginner.

With that said, I see the different points being brought up about the bolt carrier group, and gas tubes, and what not... the short answer.. no, I didn't really plan on manufacturing these parts. I did want to know though, if it came down to it, could it be done? I'm happy with the responses and again, I'm sorry for the confusion. But if you guys can help me with one more thing please:

Being new to cnc milling, I understand that a part is drawn in the CAD software then converted to g-code with CAM software and it's that g-code that instructs the mill. I also know there is tons of CAD/CAM software to choose from and like everything else in the world, you get what you pay for and sometimes less. A list that was given to me includes:

1. G-wizard for feeds and speeds
2. Geomagic Design for model creation
3. V-Carve Pro
4. Deskproto