Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Savage 110 chambering problem

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Savage 110 chambering problem

HI, I am new to the forum and I am in need of some help. I am far from an expert on gunsmithing.... very far so don't worry about insulting my intelligence.

My gun (savage 110 bolt action 30-06) has a problem. I hunted one evening and the gun took a bump. Nothing more than a bump that happens to most hunting guns at one time or another. After the hunt I unloaded the 3 cartridges without any problem. That entailed running all the bullets into the chamber and back out to eject them.

I set the gun in the corner and the next morning I was unable to close the bolt when trying to reload the gun! The bolt works perfectly without a bullet but if you put a bullet in the chamber the bolt goes forward easily but would not close and then extracting the bullet was very stiff as well.

I eventually go a shell chambered with the bolt closed. I have cleaned the barrel/sprayed oil in it/run brush and patches through the barrel and that seems to have helped. I can now chamber rounds more easily but not sure if it is because I cleaned/oiled the gun or simply because I have cycled the bolt with a bullet a hundred times.

Could a piece of trash be the problem considered after the small bump the gun unloaded all the bullets without difficulty?

Thanks for your time!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-01-2013, 10:28 PM   #2

Liked 862 Times on 648 Posts