Restoring Radom Vis 35 - DuraCoat/DuraFil

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Restoring Radom Vis 35 - DuraCoat/DuraFil

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2014, 08:31 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Likes Given: 1

Default Restoring Radom Vis 35 - DuraCoat/DuraFil

Got this one in bad shape. Outside, you can see how it looks. Inside, metal is good and almost no corrosion. I have blasted it a while back, to clearly see what I'm up against

All small parts are good. Missing a firing pin (but thats on the way) and springs (also ordered).

I plan to use DuraFil to repair slide and frame outside pitting, and then DuraCoat to finish. I have ordered matte black for this project.

But I have no experience with it. I can read the instructions of course, but can I sand/file off excessive amounts of DuraFil? How to apply it properly, not to over do it lol.
And then, painting with DuraCoat - will it add + on dimensions? I just want to use it on frame and slide outside, not the small parts. Small parts will be blued. Can paint cause small parts not to fit in?
Should I blue slide and frame prior to applying DuraFil and DuraCoat afterwards (to protect the insides that wont be painted)?
Thanks in advance

I am sure I will have more questions lol.

HW100T .177 FAC
Benji Disco.22
BSA Scorpion Carbine .177
Daystate Air Ranger .177
AirArms S410 .22 FAC regulator
Yugo M57 9mm PARA & Vis Radom 9mm PARA
Yugo M48 8x57 Military
Yugo M48 8x57 Custom Long Range
M98 8x57 hunting
M98 6,5x47 Lapua Long Range

Last edited by UlicniTrkac; 05-07-2014 at 08:05 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.