Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Refinishing gun

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2011, 12:33 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 6562 Times on 3635 Posts
Likes Given: 27929

Default Refinishing gun

Hi everyone. I'm new to gunsmithing and was needing some advice on refinishing an old side by side shotgun. It had been stored outside for several years and had a lot of surface rust. The blue is pretty much gone but luckily it has not pitted much so I'm wanting to make it look like it did when it was new. The problem I'm having is that I'm not much of a metal worker (I work mostly in wood) and do not know the best way to sand and polish all of the parts so I can re-blue them. Can anyone give me a push in the right direction?

Thank you.

Aaron

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-11-2011, 01:09 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 8638 Times on 3742 Posts
Likes Given: 1324

Making an assumption that THIS gun has no collector value- because rebluing a gun will wreck that-

Bluing of steel is controlled rusting- black iron oxide instead of red. Naval Jelly will strip bluing in seconds- it contains phosphoric acid.