Rechambering .22 LR to .22 Mag

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Rechambering .22 LR to .22 Mag

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2010, 11:54 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Rechambering .22 LR to .22 Mag

Hello all,

I have a question from across the pond - I'm a student in the UK, so I'm nowhere near as acquainted with terminology as you folks, please forgive me if I'm incorrect in some details

For a recent assignment, I need to reconstruct a crime scene. One of the guns found, a Smith and Wesson 22A, from trajectories of shots, seems responsible for the firing of Winchester Super-X .22 Mag. As far as I am aware, it is not possible for a .22 LR such as the Smith and Wesson to fire .22 Mag rounds, because of the increased length and girth of the cartridge case?

My question is whether it is possible to rechamber the Smith and Wesson so that it is capable of firing .22 Magnum rounds? If this is possible, any indicator of the complexity of the procedure would be incredibly useful (as this assignment is set in Britain, so the process would be DIY rather than by a professional).

Thanks ever so much for any help you can give me,

Jennifer

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-01-2010, 01:37 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 2735 Times on 1433 Posts
Likes Given: 231