Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Problem w/long throat in Rem 700

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2012, 07:16 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Problem w/long throat in Rem 700

I need a little help. Despite my age (old + a few), I'm new to the sport (both shooting & reloading). I'm retired military, and a precision CNC machinist in my "second life" (although not a gunsmith by any stretch). I have a "situation" which prompts me to seek the wisdom/advise of more experienced enthusiats & gunsmiths.

I recently purchased a Rem 700 BDL in 22-250 cal. My initial factory ammo choice is Hornady Superformance Varmit, 50-gr V-Max, 4,000 fps (claimed) with a C.O.L. of 2.340" (0.010" less than SAAMI max). Although purchased initially for varmit hunting, I'm going to reload with the intent of getting the most accuracy out of the gun as possible, not necessarily the highest velocity. I've been reading (a lot!) about ballistics (internal, external & terminal) and reloading, and have outfitted a respectable reloading bench.

Today, I was disappointed. Here's why: I've read that the best accuracy usually occurs when a bullet is seated close to the rifling. Zero inches of clearance, up to .030" clearance is often quoted, although I've read comments that more clearance sometimes produces good results. I measured the clearance of my chosen factory ammo, and was shocked to find that, in my arm, it has 0.147" clearance from factory's bullet seating depth to the engagement of the rifling. Granted, the V-Max bullet has a sharp ogive (which increases the clearance), but this is MUCH more than I expected, and 10 times the clearance I was hoping to achieve.