Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Looking for opinions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2012, 06:12 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Looking for opinions

Hello everyone, Thank you for taking the time to at least look at this. First off, I am a brand new member and haven't found what I am looking for reguarding what I'm looking to do.

I have a marlin 336 30/30 with a badly pitted barrel. It went through a flood and I recently cleaned it and it functions well, however accuracy is just on paper at 50yd, and I don't know where it's going at 100.

I'd like to continue using the gun because it was free, but can't see footing the cost to have the barrel replaced, or even doing it myself since for just a couple or few more hundreds I could just buy a brand new one.

I'm not a professional smith, and honestly havn't been into guns much before this past year, but I do consider myself very mechanically inclined and I've learned a lot over the past year and would love to get into smithing with this as my first major project.

I'd like to slug a clean part of the barrel and slowly lap it out to 357(nominaly), then slug the chamber and lap only the neck and the section just ahead of it (which I keep wanting to call the forcing cone) to esentially create at 3030/357 hybrid wildcat.

Can I get opinions on this? I wouldn't mind loading the rounds (as I already do so for many calibers), and I feel this would solve a couple problems I have.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-22-2012, 06:55 AM   #2