Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > Learn Gunsmithing?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2010, 11:50 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Learn Gunsmithing?

What do you do to learn gunsmithing? is it something that's self taught, or is it something that you have to be taught how to do?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-03-2010, 03:16 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8315 Times on 3595 Posts
Likes Given: 1280

There are a couple of routes. The first (and to me, the WORST) is independent study. There are any number of folks that will sell you their training courses, DVDs, etc.

The second- find a smith to apprentice under. This CAN be good, IF you have picked a smith that is not only a good smith, but a good teacher. THAT can be hit or miss.

The third is to enroll in a trade school or community college that teaches gunsmithing. There are a few of these that have a program rated highly by folks that have been thru them- and you also learn some of the other things you need to know about running a business.

My personal advice would be to learn as much as you can about the art of being a machinist (tool and die maker type) and then grab a good school, or a good smith to apprentice to. Companies like Gander Mtn are hungry for smiths, and once you have had some training, would be a good place to gain some experience.

What we have heah is.... failure to communicate.

Old 01-04-2010, 03:19 PM   #3

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 3