Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Gunsmithing Forum > know how to use a CNC machine?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2009, 06:25 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I've been a tool room machinist for Caterpillar 11 years. I use newer CNC Mazak machines with conversational programming but have used many different codes in the past as well as all the manual machines and setups. If I can help you with anything let me know. Rob.

Old 06-17-2009, 06:45 PM   #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbo60 View Post
I've been a tool room machinist for Caterpillar 11 years. I use newer CNC Mazak machines with conversational programming but have used many different codes in the past as well as all the manual machines and setups. If I can help you with anything let me know. Rob.
thanks for the offer, can you tell me how the code is setup? Like say you show up to work and you have a new project, how would you start?

Old 06-17-2009, 06:57 PM   #13

Default My 2 cents...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dynastyofnext View Post
I'm up to my last MOD for the gunsmith course I am taking which is handguns; the only reason I took the course. In the other MOD's they mentioned using a CNC machine and its functions, but they never went into detail on how it works. Does anyone have experience with a CNC? Operating it? What other uses are there for a CNC machine?

Easy as flying the Space Shuttle!

My way of saying that you'd need to know basic machining, have a couple hundred hours with all the various machines (lathe, mill, etc.), then move up to CNC. Even then, you have your basic CNC, your advanced CNC, and your OMFG CNC. Learning never really ends, nor should it.