Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Gunsmithing Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/)
-   -   How to tune a wildcat Mauser for reliability? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f33/how-tune-wildcat-mauser-reliability-65048/)

goodsteel 05-24-2012 03:51 AM

How to tune a wildcat Mauser for reliability?

Hey there fellers! I was looking for a forum where I can get some expert gunsmithing advice. I hail from castboolits.com; thanks for having me!
I am a novice gunsmith and I am trying to get my feet under me with building custom rifles. I can rebarrel and chamber one easy enough, and most modern firearms present no problems, especially when switching between like calibers (like 308win to 358win/243 etc) However, old military firearms are a different matter. I am trying to find out how to reform the feed rails/ramp to promote reliable feeding from a cartridge that is different than what the rifle was designed to cycle. I currently have a 7.7 japanees Arisaka that I am rebarreling to 358winchester. Its a cheap rifle that I wont cry too hard if I screw it up. Now obviously, the 358win is shorter than a 7.7jap. I am having a hard time sculpting the rails to get good feeding over a range of bullet weights. I get good results from long 250grain bullets, but it chokes on shorter ones, especially flat points. This is the second rifle I have tried, and both have been a breeze except for this one area. Can anyone point me towards the right books on wildcatting/rechambering rifles to function reliably with the new cartridges?

danf_fl 05-24-2012 10:03 AM

Consider building a "ramp" to the front of the magazine.

If you check out some of the Mauser conversions to .308 (or 7.62X51), they reduced the length of the mag follower and installed a "ramp" so the nose of the bullet does not free float too long. Go the full depth of the magazine.

goodsteel 05-24-2012 11:49 AM